Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Notifications of removed posts

Collapse
X
 
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
new posts

  • Wayne Luke
    replied
    Originally posted by chriske View Post
    But when a user clicks on a notification link from a posts that has been removed, couldn't there be some message saying that the message is deleted or under moderation?
    And a link with "Click here to go to the topic" is displayed?
    That is what the issue report that I linked to above is supposed to fix. If this issue is important to you than you should vote and/or comment on the issue.

    Leave a comment:


  • chriske
    replied
    Thanks for the reply's.

    I understand that once the notification is send, the cat is out of the box.

    But when a user clicks on a notification link from a posts that has been removed, couldn't there be some message saying that the message is deleted or under moderation?
    And a link with "Click here to go to the topic" is displayed?




    Leave a comment:


  • Wayne Luke
    replied
    I have a improvement request to handle email notifications to posts that no longer exist. The same could be used for inline notifications. Currently these actually throw an invalid URL message. With my suggested change, the user would be directed to the next post in the topic. Redirecting to a topic would need a different method of handling it. Will have to think about it.

    https://tracker.vbulletin.com/vbulle...sues/VBV-19330



    I guess that if the entire topic has been deleted or is no longer available, it should display a flash message on the page stating so and remove the notification. The user can then select a new notification.

    Leave a comment:


  • In Omnibus
    replied
    Originally posted by Mark.B View Post
    I'm sure there's a bug report for this somewhere.

    Clearly users should not be notified of something they can't now see.

    I'm not sure if the report ever got any traction though.
    Users who are notified by email would get notified regardless, would they not?

    It seems there's not really a way to make this 100% accurate. If there's a reply users are supposed to get notified. That's the entire purpose of the function.

    It can't be hit or miss based upon whether the notification went out first or the message was moderated first.

    Leave a comment:


  • Mark.B
    replied
    I'm sure there's a bug report for this somewhere.

    Clearly users should not be notified of something they can't now see.

    I'm not sure if the report ever got any traction though.

    Leave a comment:


  • In Omnibus
    replied
    I'm not sure how you improve it. Suppose the post has been moved into a moderation queue or soft deleted. In those cases the message is accurate.

    Leave a comment:


  • chriske
    started a topic [Bug / Issue] Notifications of removed posts

    Notifications of removed posts

    Users often get confused when they receive a notifications of a new post in the topic they subscribed to.

    When this post gets removed by a user of moderator, the notification remains. When a use clicks on it the message is shown that you do not have permissions to view.

    This is confusing to members. This should be improved somehow.
    Anyone agrees?

Related Topics

Collapse

Working...
X