Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

How to fix reputation/likes bar after making changes to the different likes categories?

Collapse
X
 
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
new posts

  • How to fix reputation/likes bar after making changes to the different likes categories?

    I left the reputation system alone on install. Using the default settings, all my users are maxing out their reputation in about 6 weeks.
    I want to stratify this out a little.
    I went to to reputation manager and added a zero to every category, thus making the ability to go to the next reputation level harder.
    I went to "Rebuild reputation"

    Everyone's are still maxed out.
    When I mouse over the reputation bar, I see that the individuals reputation is reporting the lower category.
    How do I get the reputation bar to show correct? They shouldn't all be maxed out.
    The reputation bar is hard coded. This is bad design.
    http://tracker.vbulletin.com/browse/VBV-14349
    Facebook 2 step registration doesn't work
    http://tracker.vbulletin.com/browse/VBV-9490
    Vbulletin android app does not work with VB5 and has no roadmap -- don't buy it! Demand better.
    http://tracker.vbulletin.com/browse/...Aroadmap-panel

  • #2
    You can rebuild user reputation under Maintenance -> General Update Tools.
    Translations provided by Google.

    Wayne Luke
    The Rabid Badger - a vBulletin Cloud customization and demonstration site.
    vBulletin 5 Documentation - Updated every Friday. Report issues here.
    vBulletin 5 API - Full / Mobile
    I am not currently available for vB Messenger Chats.

    Comment


    • #3
      As I said, I alreay did that. That changed the reputation title that shows on mousing over the reputation bar.
      Despite that, the bars are all still maxed out orange. I want the orange bars to be reprentative of their different reputations. They are not.
      The reputation bar is hard coded. This is bad design.
      http://tracker.vbulletin.com/browse/VBV-14349
      Facebook 2 step registration doesn't work
      http://tracker.vbulletin.com/browse/VBV-9490
      Vbulletin android app does not work with VB5 and has no roadmap -- don't buy it! Demand better.
      http://tracker.vbulletin.com/browse/...Aroadmap-panel

      Comment


      • #4
        The bars are based on the points awarded. Changing titles doesn't change that. 100 points per pip. This is and always has been hardcoded. You'll need to lower the number of points they have to adjust this. Settings -> Options -> User Reputation Options. Make the numbers there bigger.
        Translations provided by Google.

        Wayne Luke
        The Rabid Badger - a vBulletin Cloud customization and demonstration site.
        vBulletin 5 Documentation - Updated every Friday. Report issues here.
        vBulletin 5 API - Full / Mobile
        I am not currently available for vB Messenger Chats.

        Comment


        • #5
          I did that.

          That's what I'm saying.

          I went and changed the whole scheme

          Default needed 10? I made it 100.
          Default needed 50? I made it 500.

          I rebuild reputation.

          All the bars are still lit up max. They don't represent the new setup
          The reputation bar is hard coded. This is bad design.
          http://tracker.vbulletin.com/browse/VBV-14349
          Facebook 2 step registration doesn't work
          http://tracker.vbulletin.com/browse/VBV-9490
          Vbulletin android app does not work with VB5 and has no roadmap -- don't buy it! Demand better.
          http://tracker.vbulletin.com/browse/...Aroadmap-panel

          Comment


          • #6
            More example to describe:

            Before I did your reccommended changes:

            Settings were:
            User has a spectacular aura about should take 150
            User is a jewel in the rough should now take 250

            User has a reputation beyond repute should not take 2000



            New settings:
            User has a spectacular aura about should take 1500
            User is a jewel in the rough should now take 2500

            User has a reputation beyond repute should not take 20000


            I rebuild reputation.

            I got to a thread, I see user A mouse over bar, it says "has a spectacular aura about s" mouse over user B "is a jewel in the rough "
            Both user A and B have full orange bars.


            It's changing the mouse over. It does nothing to the orange pips
            The reputation bar is hard coded. This is bad design.
            http://tracker.vbulletin.com/browse/VBV-14349
            Facebook 2 step registration doesn't work
            http://tracker.vbulletin.com/browse/VBV-9490
            Vbulletin android app does not work with VB5 and has no roadmap -- don't buy it! Demand better.
            http://tracker.vbulletin.com/browse/...Aroadmap-panel

            Comment


            • #7
              What are the values for reputation in the database? Could need even bigger numbers or the rebuild is broken in vBulletin 5. If it is broken, then we need to have the developers fix it. You can reset reputation by updating the user table.

              update user set reputation = X;

              Change X to what you want it to be.
              Translations provided by Google.

              Wayne Luke
              The Rabid Badger - a vBulletin Cloud customization and demonstration site.
              vBulletin 5 Documentation - Updated every Friday. Report issues here.
              vBulletin 5 API - Full / Mobile
              I am not currently available for vB Messenger Chats.

              Comment


              • mangoz
                mangoz commented
                Editing a comment
                I have learned that you are trying to get me to run a SQL to update the reputation field in the user table.
                This will not fix. see my post below. The reputation numbers are low. The reputationid is wrong

            • #8
              deleted as I have found more information that may help
              Last edited by mangoz; Fri 20th Feb '15, 1:50pm.
              The reputation bar is hard coded. This is bad design.
              http://tracker.vbulletin.com/browse/VBV-14349
              Facebook 2 step registration doesn't work
              http://tracker.vbulletin.com/browse/VBV-9490
              Vbulletin android app does not work with VB5 and has no roadmap -- don't buy it! Demand better.
              http://tracker.vbulletin.com/browse/...Aroadmap-panel

              Comment


              • #9
                Here is explanation with more information.


                http://i.imgur.com/HhGs8ef.png

                Reputation rebuild doesn't work. It's broken??



                How can I fix now for my own forum?
                Last edited by mangoz; Fri 20th Feb '15, 3:32pm.
                The reputation bar is hard coded. This is bad design.
                http://tracker.vbulletin.com/browse/VBV-14349
                Facebook 2 step registration doesn't work
                http://tracker.vbulletin.com/browse/VBV-9490
                Vbulletin android app does not work with VB5 and has no roadmap -- don't buy it! Demand better.
                http://tracker.vbulletin.com/browse/...Aroadmap-panel

                Comment


                • #10
                  What does the reputation table do?
                  The reputation bar is hard coded. This is bad design.
                  http://tracker.vbulletin.com/browse/VBV-14349
                  Facebook 2 step registration doesn't work
                  http://tracker.vbulletin.com/browse/VBV-9490
                  Vbulletin android app does not work with VB5 and has no roadmap -- don't buy it! Demand better.
                  http://tracker.vbulletin.com/browse/...Aroadmap-panel

                  Comment


                  • #11
                    So I reset everyone's reputation to a set number.
                    I set their reputationlevelid to a corresponding id.

                    This reset the reputation bars.

                    The hover desription is still wrong.

                    So I did a rebuild reputation and it messed it all up.

                    I think its reading the reputation table and trying to implement that reputation history.


                    Can I reset the reputation and reputationid in the user table, then clear out the reputation table to start all of the reputations from square one?
                    The reputation bar is hard coded. This is bad design.
                    http://tracker.vbulletin.com/browse/VBV-14349
                    Facebook 2 step registration doesn't work
                    http://tracker.vbulletin.com/browse/VBV-9490
                    Vbulletin android app does not work with VB5 and has no roadmap -- don't buy it! Demand better.
                    http://tracker.vbulletin.com/browse/...Aroadmap-panel

                    Comment


                    • #12
                      So I set everyone to a low reputation and low reputationid in the user table.
                      But reputation bars and hover descriptions are all over the place.

                      The reputation information is NOT coming from the user table reputation and reputationid
                      The reputation bar is hard coded. This is bad design.
                      http://tracker.vbulletin.com/browse/VBV-14349
                      Facebook 2 step registration doesn't work
                      http://tracker.vbulletin.com/browse/VBV-9490
                      Vbulletin android app does not work with VB5 and has no roadmap -- don't buy it! Demand better.
                      http://tracker.vbulletin.com/browse/...Aroadmap-panel

                      Comment


                      • #13
                        Rebuilding user avatars and profiles does something else and gave all the bars back to being totally full.

                        User table is unchanged and reputation and reputationlevelid fields are still low and should give a very low reptuation hover description and reputation bars that are not full.
                        The reputation bar is hard coded. This is bad design.
                        http://tracker.vbulletin.com/browse/VBV-14349
                        Facebook 2 step registration doesn't work
                        http://tracker.vbulletin.com/browse/VBV-9490
                        Vbulletin android app does not work with VB5 and has no roadmap -- don't buy it! Demand better.
                        http://tracker.vbulletin.com/browse/...Aroadmap-panel

                        Comment


                        • #14
                          So hunting through the tracker finds this:

                          http://tracker.vbulletin.com/browse/VBV-8423


                          Can someone with support please answer:

                          1>Are the reputation bars not linked to the reputation description??
                          Do the bars have nothing to do with the reputation hover description?

                          2>Where are the bars harded coded at? This tracker gives very specific numbers saying that they will at 600 and they use to fill at 2000.

                          3>Can someone figure how to describe this process in a bug report so it can get in the tracker - for ME the bars are a problem, but I'm also showing clearly that the reputation changes are messed up for the hover description as well. Since the manual is outdated, I have no idea how to describe this process. This is the problem with asking END USERS to report bugs the way you guys need them.

                          Last edited by mangoz; Fri 20th Feb '15, 2:31pm.
                          The reputation bar is hard coded. This is bad design.
                          http://tracker.vbulletin.com/browse/VBV-14349
                          Facebook 2 step registration doesn't work
                          http://tracker.vbulletin.com/browse/VBV-9490
                          Vbulletin android app does not work with VB5 and has no roadmap -- don't buy it! Demand better.
                          http://tracker.vbulletin.com/browse/...Aroadmap-panel

                          Comment


                          • #15
                            Alright so anying finding this later, here's what I figured out so far:



                            User table has a reputation and reputationlevelid
                            There is a reputationlevel table and a reputation table



                            When you rebuild reputation, it just takes the reputation table and calculates all the previous history of reputation giving, then puts that calculated number into the user table, OVERWRITING your manually added reputation and reputation levelid (if you changed them).

                            YOU MUST CLEAR SYSTEM CACHE to get any of your changes to appear.

                            The reputation bars are TOTALLY separate from your reputation user manager settings. They max out round 600 points???? I wish some one from support would clarify this area since its such a black box.




                            So you have a forum with all the boxes maxing out quick? There is nothing you can do to increase the quanity of reputation it takes to fill the bars.


                            If you want to slow down your users from filling the bars, you must make it more difficult to give reputation. You can do this in settings in the admincp by doing stuff like requiring that you have most posts to give reputation, etc.



                            People have been asking for these bars to increase in reputation quantity for 2 years. Nothing has been done.
                            They used to be higher in previous vb versions.
                            If you think that this stinks in vb5,vote for this: http://tracker.vbulletin.com/browse/VBV-8423



                            Can support tell us where these are hardcoded?
                            The reputation bar is hard coded. This is bad design.
                            http://tracker.vbulletin.com/browse/VBV-14349
                            Facebook 2 step registration doesn't work
                            http://tracker.vbulletin.com/browse/VBV-9490
                            Vbulletin android app does not work with VB5 and has no roadmap -- don't buy it! Demand better.
                            http://tracker.vbulletin.com/browse/...Aroadmap-panel

                            Comment


                            • keiahnig
                              keiahnig commented
                              Editing a comment
                              Thanks for looking into this mangoz, I am having problems with this as well. Voted
                          widgetinstance 262 (Related Topics) skipped due to lack of content & hide_module_if_empty option.
                          Working...
                          X