Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Figure out whether any users were removed

Collapse
X
 
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
new posts

  • jakobility
    replied
    Sure, I can redo the import as often as I want. Don't know if you understand my problem.

    - I imported 900 users from forum A to forum B.
    - Forum B already has 1900 users.
    - During the import (module 004) I merged users from forum A and B, if they had the same email address.
    - I deleted all imported data afterwards and now I'm wondering if any users who were registered in forum B before, are lost.

    Can't I compare the backup sql-file with my current database to check whether there were users removed?

    edit: Okay, I finally managed it to recover all lost users. To do this while keeping the posts which were written since the backup, I had to install a test installation with my backup, imported everything from the test forums to my live forums using impex and deleted all duplicates afterwards.
    Last edited by jakobility; Wed 3rd Jul '13, 7:24am.

    Leave a comment:


  • Zachery
    replied
    Hard to tell, easier to check, or redo the import.

    Leave a comment:


  • jakobility
    replied
    You mean I should have memorized all my 1900 users?

    I did a database backup before the import. Now I just want to figure out if this backup contains users which don't exist anymore in my forums right now.

    Leave a comment:


  • Zachery
    replied
    Check the members listed in the admincp? If you want you can restart the entire import

    Leave a comment:


  • jakobility
    started a topic Figure out whether any users were removed

    Figure out whether any users were removed

    Hi,

    recently I did an import from IPB 3.4.3. On module "004 Import user" I activated the option "Would you like to associated imported users with existing users if the email address matches?"

    But I had some troubles afterwards, so I clicked on "Database cleanup and restart" --> "To delete the import session and all imported data for a clean retry, click here."

    Now I'm wondering if any users were removed as a result, because in the vBulletin manual it says:
    If you have associated or merged users, the original vBulletin users will now have a importuserid, re-running the import user module will delete these users, if you don't have any associated users this isn't an issue.
    How can I ensure that none of my old users was removed?
widgetinstance 262 (Related Topics) skipped due to lack of content & hide_module_if_empty option.
Working...
X