• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Community Server to vBulletin - I really need help

Hi Everyone,

I am hoping to get some help from members who have already done this:

import Community Server to vBulletin

aside from the basic instructions/help that i have gotten from VB staff, i think i need more help than they might be willing to extend. ( Staff, you are very helpful, dont get me wrong, and i appreciate the replies to my ticket)

i am a newbie when it comes to this, and i dont have any experience with Windows hosting, databases, etc.

but here is what i have in hand and need your help step-by-step:

- i have my VB site running on a Hostgator Linux server
    - i have my Community Server running on a 1and1.com Windows server.
    - i have a backup copy of the Community Server database in .bak format (1.4 GB size) produced via the database back system on 1and1.com
    - i have successfully uploaded the needed Impex files and a link shows up in my VB admin control panel for Impex.
    - i have configured the impexconfig.php as best as i know (can provide code if needed)

- i was told for the import to happen, the source (CS) needs to be on the same server as the vB database, i.e: 'localhost'. so i have uploaded the whole 1.4 gig of the .bak to my linux host under domain.com/forums folder.

- i have tried renaming the .bak file as .mdf (the format that is on windows server) and .mdb but nothing has worked. dont laugh, cause i dont know if its the right way of going about handling the database back up file.

... so when i click on the import in admin CP, im getting error:

PHP Code:
    Warningmssql_connect() [function.mssql-connect]: Unable to connect to serverlocalhost in [path]/impex/db_mysql.php on line 57

Warning
    mssql_select_db(): supplied argument is not a valid MS SQL-Link resource in [path]/impex/db_mysql.php on line 193 
    what am i doing wrong?
    what should i do?
    what file format should the source database be?
    can you help?

thanks