Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Custom Imports, Any Experience?

Hi everyone,

I'm a newbie to the php and vbulletin world. I sent an email to customer support by they said they don't support custom importing so I thought I would try here. This is the email I wrote, if anyone has any suggestions, I would greatly appreciate it, thanks!

Hello,

We recently purchased the vbulletin package and are in process of migrating data to the mySQL database we’ve created. I’ve been able to install the application and set up the database just fine, everything in that regard was pretty simple. I am running across a road block however during the data import process. I am writing the import script myself as we’re migrating from a custom in-house system. The problem I’m experiencing is with the forum table. I want to build a script that simply runs once we move this over to a live server, one of the steps I would like to avoid is setting up the forums through the admin panel and just doing it programmatically through my import script. I’ve updated the forum table with the forums we are going to create but I can’t get them to populate on the web page unless I create them in the Admin panel utility. I’ve done several test through the admin panel and created dummy forums to see what data is inserted into the forum table. This is an example of my import into the forum table:

lcInsertString = [INSERT INTO Forum ] + ;

[(] + [forumid, styleid, title, title_clean, ] + ;
    [description, description_clean, options, displayorder, replycount, ] + ;
    [lastpost, lastposter, lastthread, lastthreadid, ] + ;
    [lasticonid, threadcount, daysprune, newpostemail, newthreademail, parentid,] + ;
    [parentlist, password, link, childlist] + [)] + ;

[ Values ] + ;

[(] + lcMappedForumID + ; && forumid
    [, ] + '0' + ; && styleid
    [, ] + ['] + STRTRAN(NVL(lcTitle,''),['],['']) + ['] + ; && title
    [, ] + ['] + STRTRAN(NVL(lcTitle,''),['],['']) + ['] + ; && title_clean