Importing Error

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Importing Error

Im trying to get database from a phpbb to my vbulletin yet everytime i get this error...

Database error in vBulletin:ImpEx Target 3.0.7:

Link-ID == false, connect failed
    mysql error:

mysql error number: 0

what does it mean ?

This error means that either the info in your config file is wrong, or there is a problem with the MySQL server. If you are sure the source and target database details are correct, then you'll need to contact your host.

Comment

thanks im a total newbie at this im starting again this time it should work finger crossed.

Comment

Originally posted by Boxy
        This error means that either the info in your config file is wrong, or there is a problem with the MySQL server. If you are sure the source and target database details are correct, then you'll need to contact your host.
        You guys keep giving this stock answer, but many people keep having this problem. I contacted my host. They told me that it was not their problem. I believed you and changed hosts. I am still having the problem with the new host. Is someone there working on this problem or are you going to continue with your head in the sand?

The config file is fine. It is the same as it was when it worked perfectly for months until the upgrade. I know it is easier to just say it must be the host, but it is obvious that there is a problem.

Sorry if this seems harsh, but it is from weeks of frustration dealing with this problem.

Comment

There is a stock answer because there are a finite set of issues that cause this problem. This error means that either:

1) The db info in your config.php file is wrong (in which case your forums won't work at all.)

2) That user doesn't have permission to access the database listed in config.php.

3) The database doesn't exist.

4) MySQL isn't accepting new connections. (The server could either be down or has reached it's maximum connections limit.)