vBulletin 4.2.4 weirdness

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• vBulletin 4.2.4 weirdness

FULL DISCOSURE: I am a food writer and blogger, not a vBulletin expert. I use vBulletin to host a forum (https://tvwbb.com) associated with my blog (https://virtualweberbullet.com). I have relied on URLJet to host and manage my vBulletin 4 site since 2012. I've been running vBulletin 4.2.4 and not sure of the PHP version since 2017.

Since last Wednesday, the whole situation has gone sideways.

My site went down six times in three days, for what reason I don't know and URLJet can't or won't explain. Each time, they have tried upgrading PHP....to 7.1 which caused an error like this:

Function name must be a string on line 1587 in /home/chrisall/public_html/includes/class_bbcode.php

0 /home/chrisall/public_html/includes/class_bbcode.php(1042): vB_BbCodeParser->parse_array(Array, 1, 1, 0)
    1 /home/chrisall/public_html/includes/class_bbcode.php(563): vB_BbCodeParser->parse_bbcode('[QUOTE=LMichael...', 1, 1, 0)
    2 /home/chrisall/public_html/includes/class_bbcode.php(477): vB_BbCodeParser->do_parse('[QUOTE=LMichael...', 0, 1, 1, 1, true, false, NULL, false, 1)
    3 /home/chrisall/public_html/includes/class_dm.php(1597): vB_BbCodeParser->parse('[QUOTE=LMichael...', 91, 1, true)
    4 /home/chrisall/public_html/includes/class_dm_threadpost.php(483): vB_DataManager->verify_image_count('pagetext', 'allowsmilie', 91, 'post')
    5 /home/chrisall/public_html/includes/class_dm_threadpost.php(732): vB_DataManager_ThreadPost->pre_save_post(true)
    6 /home/chrisall/public_html/includes/functions_newpost.php(616): vB_DataManager_Post->pre_save()
    7 /home/chrisall/public_html/newreply.php(451): build_new_post('reply', Array, Array, Array, Array, Array)
    8 ....

then back to PHP 5.4.60.

Down again, tried PHP 7.0, same error, back to PHP 5.4.60.

Down again, somebody tried PHP 7.2.20, same error, back to PHP 5.4.60.