Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Can you delete all contents of the database and start afresh?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• [Answered] Can you delete all contents of the database and start afresh?

I've been fiddling around with a test installation of VB for a couple months using test posts and accounts. Now I'm ready to go live and would like to wipe the database of all the test accounts/posts etc so it's all fresh. Is there any way to do this? Alternatively, can I set up a brand new database and connect VB to that somehow? Thanks!

When you run the install script on an existing database, it starts off with an option to delete all the data in the that database, so go with that.
    MARK.B | vBULLETIN SUPPORT

TalkNewsUK - My vBulletin 5.5.6 Demo
    AdminAmmo - My Cloud Demo

Comment

Yes, you can do either, you can upload vBulletin files (if files already uploaded, then just upload install.php to the install directory) and navigate to it in your browser, making sure to run install.php or it will start upgrade.php instead. Once it loads and prompts you for your customer number, it will prompt you to clear the database tables, select all boxes and proceed. That will install vBulletin as new.

You can also choose to create another database and do install. but you don't have to.
      To be or not to be... Where the hell is the question????
      My psychiatrist told me I was crazy and I said I want a second opinion. He said okay, you're ugly too

Live vBulletin 4.2.0 Multilingual * Alpha/Beta vB 4 - vB 5 Tier 1A
      CentOS 6.2 - Apache:2.2.15(Apache2Handler) - PHP:5.3.3 - MySQL:5.1.61
      Xampp/Win-XP - Apache v2.2.21(Apache2Handler) - PHP:5.3.8 - MySQL:5.5.16

Comment

Many thanks. If I run the install script will that over-write any of the templates and settings? I've made a few minor changes to the templates, and changed quite a few setting in the admincp. Or will it just empty out the database?

Comment