Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Need help please. Lost most formatting and all admin buttons.My host identified a hack (fixed) and the line (I think)...

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Need help please. Lost most formatting and all admin buttons.My host identified a hack (fixed) and the line (I think)...

Please be gentle; I'm a vB noob. I do not know how to make the changes needed. Site was hacked, malware has been removed, as have the infected/affected files. As a precaution, the host changed the location, login, and password of the adminCP.

We already need to update to a newer version than we have. Updating to 4.2.2 would be the move at this time (at 4.1.0 Patch Level 2). Essentially, we took over the site from the previous owner, so we never did any installs or upgrades...we just left the site in place, as it was running fine, and transferred the license.

Issues began yesterday: lost all formatting, many admin functions stopped working or worked intermittently, and lost the 'Admin' button that takes you to the AdminCP.

Below is what the host sent me:

Hello,

The css files are failing to be loaded because your script is incorrectly writing the HTML when the PHP parser in running:

<link rel="stylesheet" type="text/css" href="css.php?styleid=1&amp;langid=1&amp;d=1353798034&amp;td=ltr&amp;sheet=bbcode.css,editor.css,popupmenu.css,reset-fonts.css,vbulletin.css,vbulletin-chrome.css,vbulletin-formcontrols.css," />

The & character is being changed to &amp; which is producing a bad result, changing that string to the correct code allows the css to be found:
    He gave me a link that seems to take me to the actual code, but I wasn't sure if it was okay to put that here.