Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

When you delete a forum, what happens to its posts?

Collapse
X
 
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
new posts

  • Jeremy8
    replied
    Originally posted by punchbowl View Post
    AdminCP -> Threads & Posts -> Move

    Afterwards delete the empty forum.
    Thanks

    Leave a comment:


  • TheLastSuperman
    replied
    View the forum in question, select the threads using the moderation checkboxes then click on Moderation Tools and move them or merge to the forum of your choice.

    Remember you can simply create a new forum and hide it unless the URL is known etc and name it something along the lines of "Recycle Bin" and/or enable only admins/mods to view. That is if your one of those sentimental types otherwise merge/move/delete.

    Leave a comment:


  • punchbowl
    replied
    AdminCP -> Threads & Posts -> Move

    Afterwards delete the empty forum.

    Leave a comment:


  • Jeremy8
    replied
    how do you do that

    Leave a comment:


  • punchbowl
    replied
    merge the forums?

    Leave a comment:


  • Jeremy8
    replied
    so whats a fast way to move thousands of treads from one forum to another

    Leave a comment:


  • punchbowl
    replied
    they get deleted too.

    you could always just hide the forum then move the threads at your leisure before finally deleting an empty forum

    Leave a comment:


  • Riasat
    replied
    if you want to save the posts in a forum before deleting, you have to manually move those posts to another forum.
    When you delete a forum, ALL subforums and ALL posts in it are also deleted.

    Leave a comment:


  • When you delete a forum, what happens to its posts?

    I thought there would be an option to move the posts to another forum, but I don't see it. And I don't want to test what happens and end up deleting stuff...

    Do they move somewhere or are they deleted?
widgetinstance 262 (Related Topics) skipped due to lack of content & hide_module_if_empty option.
Working...
X