Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• [Forum] Error 403 with Photo Uploading

Hi all.

My users are having trouble uploading photos to accompany a post.

[FYI: I have done the maintenance test and have come back with no errors with uploading attachments.]

They click on the little paperclip, select a photo and you get a little red circle with a ! in it. When you hover, the error is something like this:

Error 403 [IO ErrorEventType="IO error" bubbles=false canceleable=falseeventPhase=2 text= "Error 2038"

What the heck is this? Please respond back as if I'm a total noob with clear direction.

Thanks in advance.

Do you have mod_securoty/mod_security2 running on your server?
    Vote for:

- *Admin Settable Paid Subscription Reminder Timeframe*
    -
    *PM - Add ability to reply to originator only*
    - Add Admin ability to auto-subscribe users to specific channel(s)
    - "Quick Route" Interface...

Comment

Okay, here's how I solved the problem.

First of all, I read all the threads here related to uploading photos, and nothing really helped. I worked with my host company who have a phenomenal tech staf (shout out to U2-webs!).

Anyway, it had nothing to do with the servers, and they said they could disable the mod security, but that it would obviously leave me open for attacks. I was not about to do that.

Here's what I did and it worked for me. Not sure if it will help someone else, but here goes.

1) In admin CP-->Settings-->Options-->Message Attachment Options. In the Limit Space Taken Up By Attachments (Total), I put in 0 (since I started having a problem with uploading photos due to size, but put the largest figure here you feel comfy with).

2) Next, in the same area scroll down to Asset Manager - Enable and select the Yes, AJAX UPLOAD BY DEFAULT.