Upgrade from 3.7.4 to ?????

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• [Forum] Upgrade from 3.7.4 to ?????

During the pre-release discount period for v. 4.0, I made the purchase. Under the theory "if it ain't broke, don't fix it", I have never migrated my website. This is a non-profit, after working hours exercise and I elected not to upgrade until I experienced problems. That time has come.

My web hosting service ACENET, has upgraded their PHP to v. 5.3. My website ceased to work. ACENET assisted me with a temporary fix.

NOW WHAT?

I'm not a programmer (forty years ago I wrote FORTRAN IV when absolutely necessary, but that was another world).

1) I see some posts about a vBulletin 5.0. I can't wait long to upgrade to something, but on the other hand, my available time is very limited - I don't want to move to 4.x and then in a short while have to move again to 5.x.

2) If the best route is to migrate my website to 4.x, then is there a single manual that I can download that will walk me through the process?

3) I don't even know where to find the 4.x that I paid for, how to download it and then upload it to ACENET.

3) Other advice or comments?

Thanks in advance,

Vance Hall
    Tulsa, OK, USA

Have a look at the online manual about upgrading your forum

https://www.vbulletin.com/docs/html/upgrade

You can download the 4x version at your Client Center. Then unzip it and upload its files to your forum folder preserving the structure intact.

The only advice I have for you, is to make a backup of your database and forum files too before the upgrade. if you have some time, make a duplicate of your live forum to a test folder/subdomain and upgrade that first to test the waters so to speak and if things will go well then upgrade the main forum.

Comment