Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Upgrade: delete or overwrite?

Collapse
X
 
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
new posts

  • [Suite] Upgrade: delete or overwrite?

    I have a couple of questions regarding upgrading:

    1. What are the pros/cons/differences between deleting and overwriting?
    2. Do you have to use the tools or are they optional? It's not 100% clear in the documentation

    Thanks.

  • #2
    1. The only pro may be to have no more needed files removed. The con, if you have files/images customized you may lose them if you don't have them backup-ed or forgot to re upload them. The easy way is to overwrite, that's the way I do it.
    2. Never used any tool in over 6 years and maybe 50 or more upgrades.
    .......

    Comment


    • #3
      I never delete or overwrite. I prefer to create a new folder which allows me to easily test the software first. Once tested I shut down the main forum, do a backup of the database and then upgrade the test forum. Once all the changes are made I rename the main forum and test forum to bring the new forum online.

      Comment


      • #4
        Steps to upgrade - are they anyplace?

        Where are the steps written down on how to upgrade from 4.1.3 to 4.1.4?
        Thank you. Newbie Edie
        - Edie

        Comment


        • #5
          https://www.vbulletin.com/forum/cont...nstall-Upgrade
          .......

          Comment

          Related Topics

          Collapse

          Working...
          X