Unable to delete custom style that vB thinks is the default

Collapse
X
 
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
new posts
  • cbiweb
    Senior Member
    • Apr 2004
    • 2658
    • 4.1.x

    Unable to delete custom style that vB thinks is the default

    During preparations to upgrade a site from 3.8.6 to 4.0.8, I deleted all custom styles, except for one which keeps throwing this error at me:
    The default style set within the vBulletin Options cannot be deleted. Please change this before attempting to delete the style.
    It was the default style, but I had already changed that in Style & Language Settings, yet it still won't let me delete it. It will, however, allow me to delete the actual default style.

    The style ID's are 3 for the custom style, and 8 for what is currently listed as the default. This leads me to believe the original default was somehow deleted long ago by someone else, and now the system is confused. How do I unconfuse it?
    ~ Life isn't always fair, but you can be. ~
  • Lynne
    Former vBulletin Support
    • Oct 2004
    • 26255

    #2
    When you changed the default to 8, did you do so via vboptions or via the database? Did you check the datastore table to make sure it thinks it's styleid 8 also? And, do you use the datastore_cache? Have you checked that?

    Please don't PM or VM me for support - I only help out in the threads.
    vBulletin Manual & vBulletin 4.0 Code Documentation (API)
    Want help modifying your vbulletin forum? Head on over to vbulletin.org
    If I post CSS and you don't know where it goes, throw it into the additional.css template.

    W3Schools <- awesome site for html/css help

    Comment

    • cbiweb
      Senior Member
      • Apr 2004
      • 2658
      • 4.1.x

      #3
      Originally posted by Lynne
      When you changed the default to 8, did you do so via vboptions or via the database? Did you check the datastore table to make sure it thinks it's styleid 8 also? And, do you use the datastore_cache? Have you checked that?
      I didn't change the ID numbers, they were already assigned that way when I got there.

      According to the style table...
      SimpleBlue Pro: styleid 3 (I want to delete this one)
      vBulletin Default Style: styleid 8


      The datastore stylecache table shows this (bold highlights mine):
      a:1:{i:-1;a:2:{i:1;a:1:{i:0;a:5:{s:7:"styleid";s:1:"8";s:5:"title";s:25:"vBulletin 4 Default Style";s:8:"parentid";s:2:"-1";s:12:"displayorder";s:1:"1";s:10:"userselect";s:1:"1";}}i:100;a:1:{i:0;a:5:{s:7:"stylei d";s:1:"3";s:5:"title";s:14:"SimpleBlue Pro";s:8:"parentid";s:2:"-1";s:12:"displayorder";s:3:"100";s:10:"userselect";s:1:"1";}}}}

      If I'm reading that correctly, is it showing that both styles have the same ID?
      ~ Life isn't always fair, but you can be. ~

      Comment

      • Zachery
        Former vBulletin Support
        • Jul 2002
        • 59097

        #4
        No, the s:8 isn't related. AdminCP > Settings > Options > Style & Language Settings > Default style?

        Comment

        • Lynne
          Former vBulletin Support
          • Oct 2004
          • 26255

          #5
          No, you aren't reading that correctly.

          s:x tells how many characters there are following that.... so:
          s:14:"SimpleBlue Pro"

          Actually means, there are 14 characters you need to read.. SimpleBlue Pro is 14 characters.

          The part you really want to read is before that...
          s:7:"styleid";s:1:"8";s:5 :"title";s:25:"vBulletin 4 Default Style";
          styleid
          8
          title
          vBulletin 4 Default Style

          and
          s:7:"styleid";s:1:"3" ;s:5:"title";s:14:"SimpleBlue Pro"
          styleid
          3
          title
          SimpleBlue Pro


          So, the stuff in datastore is fine.

          Do you use the datastore_cache or some other cache (in your config.php file).

          Please don't PM or VM me for support - I only help out in the threads.
          vBulletin Manual & vBulletin 4.0 Code Documentation (API)
          Want help modifying your vbulletin forum? Head on over to vbulletin.org
          If I post CSS and you don't know where it goes, throw it into the additional.css template.

          W3Schools <- awesome site for html/css help

          Comment

          • cbiweb
            Senior Member
            • Apr 2004
            • 2658
            • 4.1.x

            #6
            I just checked datastore_cache.php and found this:

            PHP Code:
            ### start stylecache ###
            $stylecache = array (
              
            4294967295 => 
              array (
                
            => 
                array (
                  
            => 
                  array (
                    
            'styleid' => '3',
                    
            'title' => 'SimpleBlue Pro',
                    
            'parentid' => '-1',
                    
            'displayorder' => '1',
                    
            'userselect' => '1',
                  ),
                  
            => 
                  array (
                    
            'styleid' => '5',
                    
            'title' => 'SimpleBlue 800x600',
                    
            'parentid' => '-1',
                    
            'displayorder' => '1',
                    
            'userselect' => '0',
                  ),
                ),
                
            100 => 
                array (
                  
            => 
                  array (
                    
            'styleid' => '7',
                    
            'title' => 'vBulletin Default Style',
                    
            'parentid' => '-1',
                    
            'displayorder' => '100',
                    
            'userselect' => '0',
                  ),
                ),
              ),
            );
            ### end stylecache ### 
            The 'SimpleBlue 800x600' style was easily deleted, but I also notice that the vB default style has an ID of 7, soooooooo.... what's up with that?


            @Zachery: I already mentioned that I checked Style & Language Settings.
            ~ Life isn't always fair, but you can be. ~

            Comment

            • Lynne
              Former vBulletin Support
              • Oct 2004
              • 26255

              #7
              But are you *using* the datastore_cache? Does your config.php file say you are? Cuz if it doesn't, it doesn't matter what is in there. If it does, then is that file chmod to 777?

              Please don't PM or VM me for support - I only help out in the threads.
              vBulletin Manual & vBulletin 4.0 Code Documentation (API)
              Want help modifying your vbulletin forum? Head on over to vbulletin.org
              If I post CSS and you don't know where it goes, throw it into the additional.css template.

              W3Schools <- awesome site for html/css help

              Comment

              • Zachery
                Former vBulletin Support
                • Jul 2002
                • 59097

                #8
                Originally posted by Lynne
                But are you *using* the datastore_cache? Does your config.php file say you are? Cuz if it doesn't, it doesn't matter what is in there. If it does, then is that file chmod to 777?
                Long outstanding undocumented bug that doesnt come up often, chances are that vB will check that file regardless if its set in the config file

                Comment

                • cbiweb
                  Senior Member
                  • Apr 2004
                  • 2658
                  • 4.1.x

                  #9
                  Originally posted by Lynne
                  But are you *using* the datastore_cache? Does your config.php file say you are? Cuz if it doesn't, it doesn't matter what is in there. If it does, then is that file chmod to 777?
                  Yes, it is being used.

                  Originally posted by Zachery
                  Long outstanding undocumented bug that doesnt come up often, chances are that vB will check that file regardless if its set in the config file
                  So is this causing the issue? And in any case, any idea how to fix it? I'd rather not have to go through and revert all the templates in the SimpleBlue Pro style if it's easier to simply delete it and let the stock vBulletin Default style remain.
                  ~ Life isn't always fair, but you can be. ~

                  Comment

                  • Zachery
                    Former vBulletin Support
                    • Jul 2002
                    • 59097

                    #10
                    Oh, its supposed to be being used? Then is the folder its in have the correct chmod?

                    Comment

                    • Lynne
                      Former vBulletin Support
                      • Oct 2004
                      • 26255

                      #11
                      Go to your styles and click save or rebuild styles to get the cache file rebuilt.

                      Please don't PM or VM me for support - I only help out in the threads.
                      vBulletin Manual & vBulletin 4.0 Code Documentation (API)
                      Want help modifying your vbulletin forum? Head on over to vbulletin.org
                      If I post CSS and you don't know where it goes, throw it into the additional.css template.

                      W3Schools <- awesome site for html/css help

                      Comment

                      • cbiweb
                        Senior Member
                        • Apr 2004
                        • 2658
                        • 4.1.x

                        #12
                        Originally posted by Zachery
                        Oh, its supposed to be being used? Then is the folder its in have the correct chmod?
                        Whether it's supposed to be being used or not, I don't know. It's a client's site and that's how it's set up. And yes, it is chmod 777.

                        Originally posted by Lynne
                        Go to your styles and click save or rebuild styles to get the cache file rebuilt.
                        Been there done that. Just when I think I know everything, Murphy comes strolling in. Would either one of you like AdminCP and FTP access to the site to check it out for me?
                        ~ Life isn't always fair, but you can be. ~

                        Comment

                        • cbiweb
                          Senior Member
                          • Apr 2004
                          • 2658
                          • 4.1.x

                          #13
                          So my client is waiting for his site to be upgraded to 4.0.8, since two days ago (multiple issues had to be overcome). Does anyone know what I should do?

                          Time.... money.... ;-)
                          ~ Life isn't always fair, but you can be. ~

                          Comment

                          • Steve Machol
                            Former Customer Support Manager
                            • Jul 2000
                            • 154488

                            #14
                            Try turning off the datastore cache and see if you have the same problem. If you do, fill out a support ticket at:



                            Please include a complete description of the problem and be sure to include the login info to your Admin CP, phpMyAdmin and FTP in the 'Sensitive Data' field.
                            Steve Machol, former vBulletin Customer Support Manager (and NOT retired!)
                            Change CKEditor Colors to Match Style (for 4.1.4 and above)

                            Steve Machol Photography


                            Mankind is the only creature smart enough to know its own history, and dumb enough to ignore it.


                            Comment

                            • cbiweb
                              Senior Member
                              • Apr 2004
                              • 2658
                              • 4.1.x

                              #15
                              Success! Turning off datastore cache did the trick. Thanks, Steve! And equal thanks to Lynne and Zachery for your suggestions.

                              Is it recommended to use datastore under regular operations, or not?
                              ~ Life isn't always fair, but you can be. ~

                              Comment

                              widgetinstance 262 (Related Topics) skipped due to lack of content & hide_module_if_empty option.
                              Working...
                              😀
                              😂
                              🥰
                              😘
                              🤢
                              😎
                              😞
                              😡
                              👍
                              👎