Needs big help

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Needs big help

I'm hoping that someone can help with this problem I'm having.

Basically my forum got hacked today.

Symptom(s):
    - any new threads/posts seemed to have displayed the hacker's advertising message
    - if any post was made in older threads have also infected other posts in the same thread in multiple pages. Mostly all posts in an infected thread got the same message.
    + these messages displayed don't seem to be searchable.. good thing is that the content of each post can be edited back to original post. I believe I have thousands of posts infected with this hack and i can't go ahead and edit/save each post manually. (if i click on edit button on an infected post I can see original content so I can save it to get the original post back..)

I'm in need of help to make this process automated somehow..

Please help.

The message in the post is not searchable.. I have no knowledge of mysql or php..

How can I query these messages? then plug in original content?

Cheers.

Comment

Is HTML on in your forums someone could be posting meta refresh code? Do you have a live link?

Comment

it sounds like your newpost file or template has been changed to output the hackers code. I would try to restore these from backups or remove the affected code. To mass fix all the posts you will need a custom script similar to cleaner.php included with vBulletin.

Comment

hi there.

My webhost has removed suspected files in home directory and new posts are not displaying the advertising message anymore. However the threads are still displaying the same messages. I think you are right about template has been modified.

I have switched to a default template and the posts display fine.

Which template do you think has been modified? postbit? i'm using legacy. I looked in 'postbit legacy' but didn't find the advertising code in it.

Regards,
          D

Comment