Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

How do I stop spammers in my paid forum?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• How do I stop spammers in my paid forum?

I have a forum that anyone can register for, but you must pay before you are given access. Every day I have dozens of spammers sign up, but of course, they have no access without payment. It is quite tedious to remove all these by hand. Is there a better way? Is there a program or add-on to deal with this?

I searched the forum and found one add-on that seemed like it might work, but I couldn't get it to install correctly. I'm by no means a computer programmer, so maybe thats the problem! Any help would be appreciated.

To stop them registering, have you considered implementing the Human Verification Options in AdminCP > vBulletin Options > Human Verification Manager?

To delete those who've already registered, try using the Prune/Move Users option in AdminCP > Users. They'll all have less than 1 post so you should be able to weed them out ok...
    Vote for:

- *Admin Settable Paid Subscription Reminder Timeframe*
    -
    *PM - Add ability to reply to originator only*
    - Add Admin ability to auto-subscribe users to specific channel(s)
    - Highlight the correct navigation tab when you are on a custom page
    - "Quick Route" Interface...
    - Allow to use custom icons for individual forums

Comment

You will find that most of them use the same email address company, like @mail.ru, @yahoo.com.cn etc, you can add these into the User Banning Options, that saved lots of these coming through for me.

Comment

Originally posted by Trevor Hannant View Post
        To stop them registering, have you considered implementing the Human Verification Options in AdminCP > vBulletin Options > Human Verification Manager?