Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

If I turn search on - my server overloads and crashes. Suggestions?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• If I turn search on - my server overloads and crashes. Suggestions?

I currently have search turned off on my forums. This is the busy season in terms of traffic for my site and if I turn search on my server almost immediately overloads and crashes. Turn it back off and my loads average less than 0.5, usually more like 0.2 or 0.3

I've been using vBulletin since 2003 and this is our current stats...

Threads: 63,101, Posts: 2,012,614, Members: 14,145, Active Members: 1,880

I'd say the number of simultaneous users at crash time is anywhere from 150 to 300 visitors.

I was using vBulletin Search and I switched to Fulltext search... Didn't really notice much difference there.

Any recommendations on which search method to use?

Any recommendations on how to improve my experience?

Should I be archiving threads on a yearly basis so its not searching through as large of an index? Or does that not matter?

Any assistance will be greatly appreciated!

make the search only for registered users, the user can only search after 20 secs (or more) between seach queries
    while(true){
    if(
    $someone->needsHelp() && $i->canHelp()) $post->help();
    if(
    $i->findBug()) $post->bug();
    }

Comment

I appreciate your reply. Unfortunately both suggestions are/were already implemented.

I had set the time between search to 40 seconds and guests did not have the ability to use the search function.

Any other thoughts?

Comment

What do you have this set to?

Admin CP -> vBulletin Options -> Message Searching Options -> Maximum Search Results to Return

You might want to try lowering that number.
        Steve Machol, former vBulletin Customer Support Manager (and NOT retired!)
        Change CKEditor Colors to Match Style (for 4.1.4 and above)

Steve Machol Photography