Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Subscriptions

Collapse
X
 
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
new posts

  • Subscriptions

    Hi,

    I'm new at this so I was hoping someone may have some advice for a question I have.

    What I would like to do is this: I have a paid subscription that is called "Active Contributor". The subscription is set to last for 30 days and it sets the group of the member to "Active Contributor", which allows them access to a few hidden forums. After the subscription expires, I would like the user to be moved into the "Contributor" usergroup. The "Contributor" group has access to only one of the hidden forums.


    Is there a way to do this? (Basically, make it so that the user does not return to their original group after a subscription expires, but rather one I specify.)

    Thanks in advance.

  • #2
    Extra info:

    Ive been trying to test out different ways to do this, but I do not fully understand the subscription process yet. Is there a way to set a subscription length to less then a day? (Im trying to see how my settings effect the user permissions, but waiting each day for it to expire isnt very effective.)


    Thanks in advance.

    Comment


    • #3
      As it works now, vB returns the user to the original usergroup. Changing this requires modifying the code. We cannot officially support code modifications or forums running modified code, however you can try searching or asking for help with this over at www.vbulletin.org.
      Steve Machol, former vBulletin Customer Support Manager (and NOT retired!)
      Change CKEditor Colors to Match Style (for 4.1.4 and above)

      Steve Machol Photography


      Mankind is the only creature smart enough to know its own history, and dumb enough to ignore it.


      Comment


      • #4
        Thanks Steve!

        If you wouldnt mind, could you clarify one more thing for me?

        After the subscription runs out, do both the secondary and the primary usergroups get changed back?


        Also, if I were to manually change a subscribers usergroup while they were subscribed, would they stay that way once the subscription ended?


        Thanks in advance.

        Comment


        • #5
          The usergroup status - both primary and secondary - are returned to what they were prior to the subscription.

          I do not know what will happen if you manually change something. I suggest you fully test this out first, perhaps with a test subscription of one day.
          Steve Machol, former vBulletin Customer Support Manager (and NOT retired!)
          Change CKEditor Colors to Match Style (for 4.1.4 and above)

          Steve Machol Photography


          Mankind is the only creature smart enough to know its own history, and dumb enough to ignore it.


          Comment


          • #6
            Steve,

            I will give that a try. Thanks again.

            Comment

            widgetinstance 262 (Related Topics) skipped due to lack of content & hide_module_if_empty option.
            Working...
            X