Installation help! Detailed

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Installation help! Detailed

Hi, so I will admit I am new to this, but think I will be able to catch on. So I purchased the VBulletin License.

So I started following the instructions after downloading the Vbulletin.zip files, and renamed and edited the config.php file in wordpad, then uploaded the files via SmartFTP.

When uploading the Upload folder to a directory I created in Smart FTP in /public eg. Forum/ the files looked like they were all uploading ok, but then got some that I got this message ..

[10:03:09] 550 image.php: No such file or directory

So there is about 102 items that didn't seem to upload that have similar messages like

[10:04:02] 550 picture.php: Permission denied

Ok, so I realized a couple things, because I contacted my host provider, because I assumed it may be an issue with the config.php file, and realized that my current plan did not include database, php, and MySQL support. So I upgraded my plan.

Sorry this is long just want to give lots of detail about what's going on, and if anyone can help it would be greatly appreciated. This seems to be a bit of a challenge but I will be thrilled once I get it going.

Ok so after I upgraded my plan, a bunch of the files were still in my hosting file manager control panel under the directory I created, so I deleted the config.php file under includes, because I know I made mistakes including 'dbname' which I didn't realize I needed to create first.

So I went to database manager in my control panel, created a username and password and database within my hosting control panel, I then opened the config.php file on my hard drive, and changed the 'dbname' to the name of my database, and changed the user name and password to the username and password I created. Then using smart ftp, I uploaded the edited config.php file to the includes folder in uploads under the directory I made.