Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Installing vBulletin in Hostgator account

Hi all,

** i have no prior experience in web development nor as an admin/webmaster but realized i should have started long time back,, but better late than never**

I've just purchased a vBulletin and am struggling to get it installed in my hostgator account. Infact, i dont know whether i should install it directly to my server or download in my local system first.. I have seen few options given in the manual.. and it's tough to make out what's best for me..

secondly, i get freak out whenever i see instructions to change settings like mysql database name (which i am confused whether i should be contacting hostgator to get it) and....etc..etc

Plz help me out... better still, show me the easiest way to install it in my hostgator account... tell me what should i be asking from hostgator..

Also plz tell me whther i should install vBadvanced CMPS first.. like in joomla CMS, we can insatll SMF easily as a component..
    Last edited by naoba; Sun 9th Aug '09, 12:47am. Reason: more details
    How long will it take for vB to become xenForo?

First, you shouldn't be asking HostGator to do anything for you. Installing a forum is your responsibility.

Second, have you read the instructions in the vBulletin manual? If you follow them step by step you will not only have your forum installed, but you will learn a lot about servers, databases, mysql, etc.

Finally, you must have your vB forum installed first before vBadvanced.
    CHIMPIE | SKYWARN | EMTLIFE

Comment

Thank you Chimpie... I am trying and seem to have figured out something..

i hope there ain't a single thing which I shouldn't mess up lest i'll have to purchase vBulletin again

Comment

Ask hostgator if they have an instruction set on how to setup a database. Most web hosts will be happy to help you set a database up and walk you throught the settings.