Installation Problem..

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Installation Problem..

I have read around and tried to find similar threads for my problem but when I read the threads I became completely lost... I am new to vBulletin and I really would love some help..

Here is the error I get on Step 2 of the installation process.

Step 2) Connect to the database

Attempting to attach to database

Error description: mysql_connect() [function.mysql-connect]: Access denied for user 'myusername'@'host371.hostmonster.com' (using password: YES) /home3/myusername/public_html/forums/includes/class_core.php on line 311

The database has failed to connect because you do not have permission to connect to the server. Please confirm the values entered in the 'includes/config.php' file.

Any help would be appreciated .

The most likely cause of this error is that the info in your config.php file is wrong or your db user does not have full permissions to this database. Please read this for all the known causes of this error:

http://www.vbulletin.com/forum/showthread.php?t=194542
    Steve Machol, former vBulletin Customer Support Manager (and NOT retired!)
    Change CKEditor Colors to Match Style (for 4.1.4 and above)

Steve Machol Photography

Mankind is the only creature smart enough to know its own history, and dumb enough to ignore it.

Comment

This might possibly be the dumbest question, but what should go in here?
      - $config['Database']['dbname']

Comment

Nothing there, but to the right of the equal sign and in quotes you place the name of the database. Did you create a database yet.

Here is our online documentation for creating a new database and db user:

http://www.vbulletin.com/docs/html/create_database

And from the MySQL site:

http://dev.mysql.com/doc/mysql/en/CREATE_DATABASE.html

Steve Machol Photography

Mankind is the only creature smart enough to know its own history, and dumb enough to ignore it.

Comment