Hosting Company Choice Is Everything

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Hosting Company Choice Is Everything

I am no expert on this, but commonsense to me says a lot from reviewing managed server company solutions. Reading through threads here where people upgrade from shared to VPS, have issues, or VPS to dedicated, and still find what they have been provided is not adequate. I hosted my first site back in 1995, and since then have been learning from trial and error, all experience basically.

I see HostGator a lot here usually in conjunction with "unhappy", so lets do some comparisons here on what you get for your money.

Also, not sure why people have mentioned VPS from HostGator, as I do not see them having a VPS solution, Shared, Reseller or Dedicated is all I see. I do hope they aren't telling customers that Reseller hosting is VPS, because its not.

(All monthly prices as at time of posting)

The below are for demonstration purposes only, to show price vs. specifications and how rapidly they can vary.

HostGator Basic Dedicated
    • US$174
    • Intel Xeon 3040 (Dual Core)
    • 1 GB RAM
    • 250GB Hard Drive
    • 1.5TB Bandwidth

HostGator Standard Dedicated
    • US$219
    • Intel Xeon 3040 (Dual Core)
    • 4 GB RAM
    • 2 x 250GB Hard Drive
    • 1.5TB Bandwidth

GoDaddy Premium VPS (Please Don't Waste Your Time With This)
    • US$95 - $115 (Price varies on length of time you signup)
    • Such quality, they don't tell you what core is handling your VPS
    • 512 MB RAM Guaranteed / (2 GB RAM Bursted)
    • 50GB Space
    • 2TB Bandwidth

Honestly, anyone who hosts with GoDaddy, please get out of there. Seriously, that is dismal.

ServInt Enterprise VPS (Essential / Signature / Ultimate)
    • US$49 / $89 /$129
    • Dual Quad Core Intel Xeon L5300/L5400 Series CPUs
    • Guaranteed RAM - 768MB / 1.5GB / 2GB (667 MHz DDR2 Dual Rank, Fully Buffered RAM)
    • Burst RAM - 1.5GB / 3GB / 4GB