Shared vs VPS Hosting

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Shared vs VPS Hosting

Hi all I wanted to get some advice on moving from a Shared server to a VPS. I've been using asmallorange for a while now and have been very happy with their customer service, but I think my site may have outgrown being on a shared server. I am forever going over the limit on max_user_connections. Otherwise bandwith and space-wise we're okay.

I'm just not sure that VPS is something that I can handle on my own - I know how to run a query lol, but I don't know if I can handle managing the server as I've never done that before.

Can anyone give any guidance on what you need to be able to do to handle it, or have any tips they could share? I just don't want to trade one problem for a whole mess of other ones.

Thanks

Much like learning to ride a bike, a little scary at first but you quickly learn all the bits, if you want to.

I use a managed vps at www.servint.net where you can do as much or as little server management as you feel comfortable with. If you need something done, the support techs will do it for you without fuss.

They run a great support forum (vB of course) for people who like to tweak bits and pieces and spread tips and tricks.

Bottom line though, it's great to have full control over your server and adjust whatever you need to do yourself
    Lats...

Comment

If you are not comfortable managing a VPS yourself, get a fully managed VPS. You can also consider Semi-Dedicated hosting, which is actually an easy shared hosting, but with much less people sharing the same server.
      GigaPros.com -- vBulletin Optimized Hosting with LiteSpeed!
      ZERO Overselling Enforced WebHosting. SEE HOW…
      FREE Site Transfer |24x7 True Support (Phone, Chat, Tickets)
      We host high traffic vB. See this example with 1.5 Millon posts!

Comment