Can I run vBulletin on a RAQ4?

Collapse
X
 
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
new posts
  • Cold Steel
    Senior Member
    • Apr 2000
    • 383
    • 3.0.1

    Can I run vBulletin on a RAQ4?

    So far my max number of concurrent users has been 15, with an average of 200-300 posts per day, with the peak so far at almost 900 posts per day.

    Given these stats, would running the vB on a RAQ4 be ill-advised?

    I know that *nix machines generally have more power, but I'm *nix illiterate.

    Thanks!
    Richard Young, Esq.
    asian forums | asians
    Reverse Funnel System - Fastest Way To Monetize Your Forum
  • George L
    Former vBulletin Support
    • May 2000
    • 32996
    • 3.8.x

    #2
    well with 15 users at a time it would do okay but if you anticipate it growing you might as well start off with a full linux server (although a RAQ4 is still linux) and learn the ropes while you site is lightly loaded (means less angry members when you stuff something up LOL)

    if you are uneasy with admin stuff and need an admin panel and user panel like the RAQs you can go with a host which has cpanel/webhost manger panel www.cpanel.net

    VDI.net colocated hosts such as venturesonline.com and hosts such as site5.com colocated at NAC.net offer cpanel/whm
    :: Always Back Up Forum Database + Attachments BEFORE upgrading !
    :: Nginx SPDY SSL - World Flags Demo [video results]
    :: vBulletin hacked forums: Clean Up Guide for VPS/Dedicated hosting users [ vbulletin.com blog summary ]

    Comment

    • Philipp
      Senior Member
      • Apr 2000
      • 191
      • 3.8.x

      #3
      RaQ's are fine for small and midsize boards as long the machine has enough memory .
      Contentteller Community Forums

      Comment

      • Cold Steel
        Senior Member
        • Apr 2000
        • 383
        • 3.0.1

        #4
        How much is enough?

        How about the following specs?

        - 256 RAM - PC100
        - DUAL 20 GB Hard Drives
        - 450 MGhz Processor
        -RAID1

        Thanks!
        Richard Young, Esq.
        asian forums | asians
        Reverse Funnel System - Fastest Way To Monetize Your Forum

        Comment

        • JamesUS
          Senior Member
          • Aug 2000
          • 4622

          #5
          That should cope with your load. A faster processor would be useful but I thikn the 450 will be fine for a while at least.

          Comment

          • Philipp
            Senior Member
            • Apr 2000
            • 191
            • 3.8.x

            #6
            Memory is more important that a faster CPU.

            For example: The board on www.wcm.at/vb2 runs still on a old Pentium II 266Mhz Server with 512MB Ram
            Contentteller Community Forums

            Comment

            • JimF
              Senior Member
              • May 2000
              • 1988

              #7
              Originally posted by Philipp
              Memory is more important that a faster CPU.

              For example: The board on www.wcm.at/vb2 runs still on a old Pentium II 266Mhz Server with 512MB Ram
              And it runs like it's on a 266Mhz server.

              -jim

              Comment

              • George L
                Former vBulletin Support
                • May 2000
                • 32996
                • 3.8.x

                #8
                Originally posted by Philipp
                Memory is more important that a faster CPU.

                For example: The board on www.wcm.at/vb2 runs still on a old Pentium II 266Mhz Server with 512MB Ram
                thinking long term, won't it be easier to do ram upgrades than replacing the cpu ?

                motherboard might need changing if an older cpu's mb didn't fit a future upgrade ?
                :: Always Back Up Forum Database + Attachments BEFORE upgrading !
                :: Nginx SPDY SSL - World Flags Demo [video results]
                :: vBulletin hacked forums: Clean Up Guide for VPS/Dedicated hosting users [ vbulletin.com blog summary ]

                Comment

                • Philipp
                  Senior Member
                  • Apr 2000
                  • 191
                  • 3.8.x

                  #9
                  Jim:
                  The performance here is fine (1-2 sec/page)

                  The server might be slower for you because it is located in Vienna, Austria. Check your traceroute

                  Eva2000:
                  Yes
                  Last edited by Philipp; Mon 30 Apr '01, 2:28pm.
                  Contentteller Community Forums

                  Comment

                  widgetinstance 262 (Related Topics) skipped due to lack of content & hide_module_if_empty option.
                  Working...
                  😀
                  😂
                  🥰
                  😘
                  🤢
                  😎
                  😞
                  😡
                  👍
                  👎