No announcement yet.

How does forum software store threads?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• How does forum software store threads?

I know this is a stupid question but I am coding a CMS (I am new to databases) for my site and I need to enable mutiple staff members to post summaries of the pokemon episodes (this is independent from vB) when I plan to only have 1 page per an episode. How would I do that? I just need a basic idea of how threads generally work.

Also if anyone could explain to me how to get PHP to detect if there is data in a row from a MySQL query or not, it would be a big help.
    Last edited by ShiningArcanine; Wed 22 Oct '03, 12:32pm.

Well for the threaded way, when you add a new rom to the table, you would have the row_id, parient_id, and if you add a first row, the row_id would be 1, and parient_id be 0, then add a reply to that thread the row_id would be 2, parient_id 1, add a new thread, you would have row_id 3, parient 0, another to the first, row_id 4, parient 1.

Complex, someone else maybe able to give a better explaination, but its one of thoes things you need to sit down and think about.

mysql_affected_rows() returns how many rows were returned, check the php manual for how to use it.

Comment

If you don't understand the basics of PHP and vBulletin integration, you are better off downloading and using a pre coded portal. If you are running vB3, take a look at external.php in the root directory. If you are running vB2, take a look at Pluh News script. Both provide ways to extract data from MySQL in vB MySQL schema.
      Trent Gillespie Mod Theater Gillespie Photography

Comment

I'll actually take the opposite stance and say that I think you should try yourself. If you have trouble and *need* something you can't yourself manage, then go for an existing solution.

I'd say you can learn from whatever product you choose to use, but I can't say the quality of the code will necessarily be very good.

Comment