Please help! with html tables

Collapse
X
 
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
new posts
  • Christian8a
    Senior Member
    • May 2007
    • 249
    • 3.8.x

    Please help! with html tables

    Please
    Im trying to just get better performance on my site to load fast.

    Right now everything is fine, there is only like 3 modifications in total but one that is causing problems is that I have a right side column where I display sponsor banners.

    Now the problem is that the body and the sponsorship table is wrapped in one table you know

    table
    td
    forum content
    /td
    td width 100
    sponsors
    /td
    /table

    something like that
    but then on IE the tables will not display untill all content is displayed on the table so my forum is not displaying untill the banners are loaded
    how can I fix that

    site is



    Thanx in advance
  • Floris
    Senior Member
    • Dec 2001
    • 37767

    #2
    replace it with <div> and use the div as container.

    Comment

    • Christian8a
      Senior Member
      • May 2007
      • 249
      • 3.8.x

      #3
      ok
      can you explain just simple how would you do it.
      My banners are all wrapped like so...
      -----------------------------------

      <div style="padding: 1px; border: none;">
      <a href="http://www.tropi-care.com" target="_New"><img src="images/sponsors/tropicare/tropicare_button.gif" alt="" border="0" /></a></div>

      <div style="padding: 1px; border: none;"><a href="http://www.trifectaperformance.com" target="_New"><img src="images/sponsors/trifecta/trifecta_button.gif" alt="" border="0" /></a></div>

      -----------------------------------

      so can I put:

      --------------------------------
      $stylevar[htmldoctype]
      <html xmlns="http://www.w3.org/1999/xhtml" dir="$stylevar[textdirection]" lang="$stylevar[languagecode]">
      <head>
      <!-- no cache headers -->
      <meta http-equiv="Pragma" content="no-cache" />
      <meta http-equiv="Expires" content="-1" />
      <meta http-equiv="Cache-Control" content="no-cache" />
      <!-- end no cache headers -->
      $headinclude
      <title><phrase 1="$vboptions[bbtitle]">$vbphrase[x_powered_by_vbulletin]</phrase></title>
      </head>
      <body>
      $header
      $navbar

      $ad_location[ad_forumhome_afterforums]

      <div width="100%" valign="top">

      forum content

      </div>
      $footer
      -----------------------------

      something like that?
      Last edited by Christian8a; Wed 9 Apr '08, 2:41pm.

      Comment

      • Floris
        Senior Member
        • Dec 2001
        • 37767

        #4
        Please put the "header" template in a .txt file.

        Comment

        • Christian8a
          Senior Member
          • May 2007
          • 249
          • 3.8.x

          #5
          here
          Attached Files

          Comment

          • Christian8a
            Senior Member
            • May 2007
            • 249
            • 3.8.x

            #6
            Im struggling with this, anybody knows how to do this

            How do I change table for div

            Comment

            • Floris
              Senior Member
              • Dec 2001
              • 37767

              #7
              <td width="450" height="90" align="left">

              change the 450px width to 100%

              <td width="100%" height="90" align="left">

              Comment

              widgetinstance 262 (Related Topics) skipped due to lack of content & hide_module_if_empty option.
              Working...
              😀
              😂
              🥰
              😘
              🤢
              😎
              😞
              😡
              👍
              👎