Notice: Undefined variable: tableprefix.....

Collapse
X
 
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
new posts
  • whitetigergrowl
    Senior Member
    • Jun 2004
    • 644
    • 5.1.x

    Notice: Undefined variable: tableprefix.....

    I've posted this on Vbulletin.org with no response. Maybe someone here can help me. While this is for BBmessenger, I installed it fine....expect for this undefined variable.

    Notice: Undefined variable: tableprefix in /home/-----/public_html/bbmessenger/sources/boardmodule/vb3.inc.php on line 35

    Here is a copy and paste from the vb3.inc.php from that section in question:

    // Load the database settings into $VAR;

    function boardmodule_import_db_settings()

    {

    require_once ("../includes/config.php");

    global $VAR;

    $VAR["db_host"] = $servername;

    $VAR["db_username"] = $dbusername;

    $VAR["db_password"] = $dbpassword;

    $VAR["db_name"] = $dbname;

    $VAR["db_tblprefix"] = $tableprefix;

    $VAR["db_persistant"] = $usepconnect;


    ^^ Any ideas whats how to fix this?! My VB3 and php are up to date. And my forums are installed in the root and there is no prefix. I checked my config file and thats set right too. As well everything is chmoded correctly. Any help would be greatly appreciated. Thanks!
  • whitetigergrowl
    Senior Member
    • Jun 2004
    • 644
    • 5.1.x

    #2
    *crickets*

    Anyone that might be able to help me with this? Any help would be greatly appreciated. Its just that one darn error.

    Comment

    • f i x a t e
      New Member
      • Jan 2005
      • 6

      #3
      can you post the contents of config.php please? I think that might be it.
      Somehow the variable isnt being initialized before its use.

      fixate

      Comment

      • whitetigergrowl
        Senior Member
        • Jun 2004
        • 644
        • 5.1.x

        #4

        // ****** DATABASE SERVER NAME ******
        // This is the hostname or IP address of the database server.

        // It is in the format HOST:PORT. If no PORT is specified, 3306 is used.

        // If you are unsure of what to put here, leave it at the default value.

        $servername = 'localhost';

        // ****** DATABASE USERNAME & PASSWORD ******

        // This is the username and password you use to access MySQL.

        // These must be obtained through your webhost.

        $dbusername = '******';

        $dbpassword = '******';

        // ****** DATABASE NAME ******

        // This is the name of the database where your vBulletin will be located.

        // This must be created by your webhost.

        //$dbname = '*****';

        $dbname = '********';

        // ****** TECHNICAL EMAIL ADDRESS ******

        // If any database errors occur, they will be emailed to the address specified here.

        // Leave this blank to not send any emails when there is a database error.

        $technicalemail = '[email protected]';

        // ****** PERSISTENT CONNECTIONS ******

        // This option allows you to turn persistent connections to MySQL on or off.

        // The difference in performance is negligible for all but the largest boards.

        // If you are unsure what this should be, leave it off.

        // 0 = Off; 1 = On

        $usepconnect = 0;

        // ****** PATH TO ADMIN & MODERATOR CONTROL PANELS ******

        // This setting allows you to change the name of the folders that the admin and

        // moderator control panels reside in. You may wish to do this for security purposes.

        // Please note that if you change the name of the directory here, you will still need

        // to manually change the name of the directory on the server.

        $admincpdir = 'admincp';

        $modcpdir = 'modcp';

        // ****** USERS WITH ADMIN LOG VIEWING PERMISSIONS ******

        // The users specified here will be allowed to view the admin log in the control panel.

        // Users must be specified by *ID number* here. To obtain a user's ID number,

        // view their profile via the control panel. If this is a new installation, leave

        // the first user created will have a user ID of 1. Seperate each userid with a comma.

        $canviewadminlog = '1';

        // ****** USERS WITH ADMIN LOG PRUNING PERMISSIONS ******

        // The users specified here will be allowed to remove ("prune") entries from the admin

        // log. See the above entry for more information on the format.

        $canpruneadminlog = '1';

        // ****** USERS WITH QUERY RUNNING PERMISSIONS ******

        // The users specified here will be allowed to run queries from the control panel.

        // See the above entries for more information on the format.

        // Please note that the ability to run queries is quite powerful. You may wish

        // to remove all user IDs from this list for security reasons.

        $canrunqueries = '1';

        // ****** UNDELETABLE / UNALTERABLE USERS ******

        // The users specified here will not be deletable or alterable from the control panel by any users.

        // To specify more than one user, separate userids with commas.

        $undeletableusers = '';

        // ****** SUPER ADMINISTRATORS ******

        // The users specified below will have permission to access the administrator permissions

        // page, which controls the permissions of other administrators

        $superadministrators = '1';

        // Prefix that your vBulletin tables have in the database.

        // For example: $tableprefix = 'vb3_';

        //$tableprefix = '';

        // Prefix that all vBulletin cookies will have

        // For example

        $cookieprefix = 'bb';

        Comment

        • Steve Machol
          Former Customer Support Manager
          • Jul 2000
          • 154488

          #5
          I'm not sure why he asked you to post your config.php file. This error is from a hack you've installed. The best place to get help with this is in the appropriate forum and thread for this hack.
          Steve Machol, former vBulletin Customer Support Manager (and NOT retired!)
          Change CKEditor Colors to Match Style (for 4.1.4 and above)

          Steve Machol Photography


          Mankind is the only creature smart enough to know its own history, and dumb enough to ignore it.


          Comment

          • whitetigergrowl
            Senior Member
            • Jun 2004
            • 644
            • 5.1.x

            #6
            Been there, tried that. The support is all but dead. As well, it's only the one error after install. I'm just trying to nail it down. It appears to be in the php somewhere in the vb3.inc.php file. Which I posted already. Just not sure if the variable is wrong or what. To me it appears right...but I'm still a newb somewhat.

            Comment

            • f i x a t e
              New Member
              • Jan 2005
              • 6

              #7
              Originally posted by Steve Machol
              I'm not sure why he asked you to post your config.php file. This error is from a hack you've installed. The best place to get help with this is in the appropriate forum and thread for this hack.
              Isnt it just because $tableprefix = ";

              Doesnt it need to be $tableprefix = "your db name"; ? or something like that

              Comment

              • Icheb
                Senior Member
                • Nov 2002
                • 1291

                #8
                Change

                //$tableprefix = '';

                to

                $tableprefix = '';

                and try again.

                Comment

                • Floris
                  Senior Member
                  • Dec 2001
                  • 37767

                  #9
                  Yes, it has to be defined. Even if it is empty.

                  Comment

                  • whitetigergrowl
                    Senior Member
                    • Jun 2004
                    • 644
                    • 5.1.x

                    #10
                    Yeah. The error is weird. Everything seems to be installed right, except that I can't figure out whats causing the error and where the problem lies.

                    Comment

                    • Icheb
                      Senior Member
                      • Nov 2002
                      • 1291

                      #11
                      Did you try my suggested fix for config.php ?

                      Comment

                      • whitetigergrowl
                        Senior Member
                        • Jun 2004
                        • 644
                        • 5.1.x

                        #12
                        Stupid stupid me. Yep, that worked! Thanks for pointing out that rather obvious overlook of mine. Again, thanks!

                        Comment

                        widgetinstance 262 (Related Topics) skipped due to lack of content & hide_module_if_empty option.
                        Working...
                        😀
                        😂
                        🥰
                        😘
                        🤢
                        😎
                        😞
                        😡
                        👍
                        👎