Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Is it possible to copyright your forum / site?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Is it possible to copyright your forum / site?

I'm new to this, and am wondering if it's possible? How would I go about doing this?

Your site is automatically copyrighted (at least in the US) from the moment it's created. You can apply for copyright for additional protection, but technically it's not necessary.

There are exceptions (for instance, you probably don't own the copyright to forum posts), but your site is copyrighted already.

Comment

The site and forums itself can be copyrighted, which includes images, general layout of content, and some of the content itself. The owner has no rights to user information or posts made by a user.

Basically to copyright all you have to do is pop a copyright notice in the bottom.
      "63,000 bugs in the code, 63,000 bugs, you get 1 whacked with a service pack, now there's 63,005 bugs in the code."
      "Before you critisize someone, walk a mile in their shoes. That way, when you critisize them, you're a mile away and you have their shoes."
      Utopia Software - Current Software: Utopia News Pro (news management system)

Comment

Basically to copyright all you have to do is pop a copyright notice in the bottom.
        That's not true; you don't even have to do that. The copyright notice isn't even necessary in a lot of countries (though it's still recommended).

Comment

Hm I actually had the Edit window open and added that in, but seeing as it's not there I must've navigated away before submitting.
          "63,000 bugs in the code, 63,000 bugs, you get 1 whacked with a service pack, now there's 63,005 bugs in the code."
          "Before you critisize someone, walk a mile in their shoes. That way, when you critisize them, you're a mile away and you have their shoes."

Comment

Originally posted by ogden2k