vb...which version to use?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• vb...which version to use?

I purchased a license of vb last night, agravated over the lack of support and professionalism of some other forum programs. I hadn't planned on doing it, but I've been an admin on a vb forum before and I have to say that it had everything I wanted (and needed).

Regardless, I went and installed a fresh version of vb 3 gamma, but there were some errors and I was hoping to get some sort of portal system up asap (which I haven't been able to find one that supports the new version)...so I downgraded back to 2.3.3 and imported all of my old phpbb users and posts.

One thing I was a little disappointed was the lack of free stuff available for vb..lol, I've been in the free world too long. Time to step up. I'm a graphic designer so I'm not going to dish out cash for something I can do myself.

My questions:

1) Should I even bother creating a style for 2.3.3 if I'm just going to have to upgrade and tweak it to work with the new board that I'll be upgrading to once some of the bugs are worked out. How difficult would it really be to do such a thing

2) How exactly do I go about upgrading back up to gamma 3? I looked but I couldn't find a 2.x ---> gamma 3 upgrade, only the full installation. I was unable to import my old posts from a fresh version of gamma 3, but I was able to do it with the older vb.

3) Where can I find a style making tutorial? I looked but I was unable to find any help on that subject. I've had quite a lot of experiened working with phpbb, e107, and invision....but vb seems to be done a little differently than I'm used to.

Thanks for the help!

Zan

Originally posted by Zanthadar
    One thing I was a little disappointed was the lack of free stuff available for vb..lol, I've been in the free world too long. Time to step up. I'm a graphic designer so I'm not going to dish out cash for something I can do myself.