This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Message board newbies

I have just started using vB for a youth soccer club site that I am in charge of this year. I have forums for each of the teams in the club to do whatever with. However, a lot of the people using the forums are complete newbies to message boards (and a lot to computers in general I think). I am getting lots of "How do I do this?" with lots of obvious questions (at least I think are rather obvious, i.e. how to login!)

So, for those people who have had boards for a while and dealt with a lot of newbies, how do you handle it? It gets pretty frustrating when you think it is pretty clear as to how to do something and then someone tells you they are completely confused by the whole process.

I am a cognitive science major, and one of the major topics of the major is "Human Computer Interaction". So, things like how people interact with technology is pretty interesting to me. I love vB because it is such an easy board to understand and use. Are these people truly morons, or is vB and message boards in general something that does require a little experience to totally understand? I don't remember ever having any problems with it. It may be because I am pretty computer savvy and can pick up new things computer related easier.

I don't know, but I am starting to get annoyed with the stupid people (even though they probably aren't stupid, I just want to think they are).