Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• My first client.

Hi all,

So I met a man online and he is looking to have a website created. I have only done freelance once with a friend so far so I am not sure what to look out for or how much to charge.

I am a junior in college so I don't plan on charging an insane amount of money. He needs a layout designed and coded by wednesday. I told him I would give him a price and rough preview of the layout monday night.

When selling a layout does he get the layout and the copyright? It is his design now, correct? I should ask for the payment or half the payment before I send him the design? Any suggestions on a price? He was going to pay 200-400 for a design online until he met me. I can't charge him that much because he helped me out a bit with my computer and I am new to freelance so I don't want to demand anything crazy.

Any suggestions? If I shouldn't post this here I am sorry. I'm not trying to sell my services or anything just looking for advice. Thanks.
    last + blue = lsatblu

Tales Otaku Admin - Tales Forums Admin

I sell my layout/design in three portions:

- share license (they pay 40%, options are : no customizations, no resell or copyright rights, option to get branding-free) Comes with flat normal sized psd gdk.

- unique license (they pay 80%, options are : customized to their requirements, does not include resell rights or copyright, option to get branding-free) Comes with layered dev sized psd gdk

- owned license (they pay 100%, customized to their requirements, includes full copyright and resell rights) Comes with layered dev sized psd gdk

This means certain designed styles end up being used by multiple users.
    Some designs are sold as unique, only one client uses it, and is free to use it throughout their whole business.