Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

New to Vbulletin/Operating Websites (help me start a noob walkthrough)

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• New to Vbulletin/Operating Websites (help me start a noob walkthrough)

Alright, first of all let it be known to all that I am almost a total noob. I have very little html/server/hosting knowledge, and am thinking about what seems to me, to do the impossible haha. Currently I own and operate bikecoalition.com. It's a bike community forum that I created, well sort of. I bought the domain name, and the company did the rest. The only thing I did, was use the tools to create it to my liking. Very simple stuff, don’t even know how the hosting/server works.

Recently I've been working on another idea, and need a front page that will allow me to have articles, picture galleries, other pages, and a forum. From what everyone has told me, vbulletin is the only way to go. So here I am asking for anyone and everyone that can help me through the process of starting with my domain, and eventually getting it to a final community site.

I just recently bought a domain name from cheapnames.com. So where do I go from here? Get hosting? or buy the license. Appreciate any help you guys can give me. Just got done with finals, and am ready to really bunker down and get this things going.

(sry if this is in the wrong area, couldn't narrow down my topic enough and figured this is the best place to get a little bit of information from everything.

Start ahead by trying out vBulletin yourself. Check its administrative control panel & experiment with setting options, adding forums & sub-forums, styling forum's look, etc.:
    http://www.vbulletin.com/admindemo.php
    You're spending millions of dollars on a website?!

Comment