Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

How much do big forums spend to run their forum and does adsense support these costs?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• How much do big forums spend to run their forum and does adsense support these costs?

I am just getting into forums. So naturally i use godaddy and spend just $3 a month for hosting. I also have adsense which is generating about $2 a day or less.

My ultimate goal is to grow my membership to about 100k members.

But, i read on another thread a person talking about how he has a big forum and has a staff of 5 people and several dedicated web servers with redundancy and Business Continuity and Disaster Planning, UPS and Backup Generators etc. He had all this and only 25k members.

Could someone give me a ballpark estimate of how much it would cost to maintain a vbulletin forum with each of these membership milestones?
    • 1k members
    • 10k members
    • 25k members
    • 50k members
    • 100k members
    • 250k members
    • 500k members
    For example, if i had 25k active members who post 1 thread/post each day, how much would i expect to spend on hosting?

Also does adsense generate enough revenue to cover these costs? Or do i need to get funding elsewhere?

You ask a lot. I know I can't give you what ya want in a reply. I know I run the google ads, and get about 18 cents per click, I get about 100 bucks a month from them. Some months more, some months less.
    Tim L
    www.yesfans.com

Comment

Originally posted by 1yesfan View Post
      You ask a lot. I know I can't give you what ya want in a reply. I know I run the google ads, and get about 18 cents per click, I get about 100 bucks a month from them. Some months more, some months less.

I guess in simple terms. I am just wondering if people who have millions of posts or thousands of members end up spending hundreds of dollars or thousands of dollars a month just to maintain their hosting?