Running a Raffle type contest... need input

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Running a Raffle type contest... need input

I am not advertising this but I honestly need some input on any legal obstacles I may face doing this.

A member got an iPod Nano 2GB version from those referally links we have all come to love.

Well he sent it to me to give away as a raffle on the my website.

This is what I have so far http://www.mustangevolution.com/********/ (lol replace the stars with f-reeipod without the dash)

I have never done this before so I need some constructive critizim and some advice on the best way to handle this.

I planned to pick the winner by entering their userid into a program that randomly selects a number.

Thanks!

Brent

Why not try to get something back from your members in return for offering this as a prize...? You could do it in a fun way or more seriously. You could run prehaps a caption contest, or an article contest, a referral contest - which would in return get you more activity on your forum etc.

Great prize to give away though...
    John

Comment

Check out your local and state laws on that, before even thinking on setting up any lottery give aways.

Well since it is you, I would not care about State/US laws and start this lottery right now, I am sure your local law enforcement would look the other way on this.

Comment

Unless you're a licensed nonprofit org or licensed gambling establishment, selling raffle tickets is illegal. You can give them away but not sell them. I checked into this intensively last summer while I was setting up a raffle for our condominium complex for an air conditioner. Glad I caught it before I started selling.
        "I can't seem to bring myself to say, 'Well, I guess I'll be toddling along.'
        It isn't that I can't toddle. It's that I can't guess I'll toddle."

--Robert Benchley (1889-1945)

Comment

I noticed three typos on viewing the page:

The title should be "Win an iPod Nano!"