Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

What is your preferred VOIP / Instant Messaging solution?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• What is your preferred VOIP / Instant Messaging solution?

As this Sunday reaches, I am getting ready to move off to another city (within the province of Ontario) but out of the local calling areas. This is my first time not living in the same city as a lot of my family and clients.

I have been doing a lot of research on VOIP solutions. At this time I am trying to keep the cost of living down as much as possible, so I will have my cell-phone and will probably use one of the available Instant Message (IM) software with VOIP bundled in. At this time Yahoo seems like the best choice offering the cheapest Computer-to-Landline cost than any of their immediate competitors. Skype has its features as well that many others don’t.

While searching I came across a review from CNET, which I referred to benchmark some of the immediate IM/VOIP solutions together.

I would like some input, what is your preferred solution? Any experience? What are you using now? How is the quality? Ease of use? What hardware you need? And any general opinions and feedback you may have.

Never used VOIP... I have 4 phones, 3 phone lines and 2 cell phones in the house. Don't make long distance calls on a regular basis so there is no cost savings in VOIP.

For IM, I use MSN and XFIRE these days.
    Translations provided by Google.

Wayne Luke
    The Rabid Badger - a vBulletin Cloud demonstration site.
    vBulletin 5 API - Full / Mobile
    Vote for your favorite feature requests and the bugs you want to see fixed.

Comment

IM = Aim w/ DeadAim

Comment

Too bad you didn't get Fido Canada while it was out. Unlimited calling anywhere in Fido's footprint+850LD minutes and unlimited Long Distance minutes. And no I ain't giving mine up ever!

Comment

I use msn and the voice chat feature is really cool !

Comment

Originally posted by Arunan