I finally got a vBulletin Owned License

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• I finally got a vBulletin Owned License

And now comes the hard part. The genesis of a new online community.

But before doing that I have some quick questions.

Let me put this plain simple. I have 0 knowledge regarding PHP, MySQL and Apache (and vBulletin for that matter).

Obviously I need to read the entire manual, but is it enough to put my forum online, or do I need to have some basic computer knowledge regarding PHP, Apache and MySQL before reading the manual?
    And if so, can you recommed any books?
    (Please don´t recommend PHP tutorials, they aren´t the best thing for beginners.)

This is kinda embarassing since I am a computer science student...(but this is my first year on college) and I didn´t learn anything useful because of the several only-math classes. Too much math, almost no programming...

I only learned a little bit of C language and that´s it.

So...I know many people out there has (or had) the same problem. What did you do?
    Did you first start studying (PHP, Apache and MySQL) from books and/or online tutorials or was the vBulletin manual enough to put your board online?

Thanks in advance.

P.S: This is kinda off-topic, but you guys on the support department, answer to those support tickets really lightning fast!

Congrats on your new vB! Enjoy...
    "CREEPSHOW CREEPS ONLINE" - The first & best online resource dead-icated to Stephen King & George A. Romero's 1982 horror anthology classic!!!!

Comment

Time to start reading those sticky threads And the online manual! And welcome to our community.

Comment

Hi Pri]M[al

Welcome to the vB community!

To put your mind at rest, I had no knowledge of php, mySQL or Apache when I first purchased vB. In fact the only knowledge of vB I had was from using it on other sites as a normal member.