Best Linux Distribution...

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Best Linux Distribution...

I currently have an old 600MHz Sony laptop from a few years back, and I was wanting to install a new OS on it and get it running again.

I had Windows XP installed, but it was too slow. Does anybody know of any good linux distributions that would perform well on a 600MHz Celeron notebook computer with 128MB SDRAM?

(I've got 10GB HDD space, if it matters. Should be plenty.)

All I need is something that is:
    1. Runs fast
    2. Lets me use Internet/Email/Instant Messaging
    3. Lets me run MS Office-type products (Word, PowerPoint, Excel, mainly)
    4. Something easy to use. I've got some basic Unix knowledge, but I don't exactly know the in's and out's of linux. Yet.
    Also, I've got a wireless network card that I need to use to get online. I haven't found any linux-specific drivers for it, but I've read stuff about how I can use my Windows drivers. Does anyone know anything about this?
    :)

http://ndiswrapper.sourceforge.net/

Comment

the prefered distro varies from person to person.
      personally i'd say check out fedora core 4, ubuntu, or debian and see which one you like best.

even better: check out www.distrowatch.com and read up on all the popular distros to see which one suits you
      http://www.virtualinfusion.net
      An Anime and Manga discussion forum.

Comment

RedHat 5.2 You'll be quite pleased. Unless you of course wants GUI. But who would want that!

Comment

For a 600MHz celeron with only 10gig space and that little memory I would actually stay away from fedora core 4. Also just the other day someone I know wasn't very happy with Ubuntu on his P3 700MHz laptop, he said it ran too slow. I know Slackware runs OK on older computers so you might want to try that one.

Comment

I am talking RedHat 5.2, not Fedora Core 4

Comment

There's
              Knoppix
              Mandriva