What do you do...

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• What do you do...

...when certain members will simply not stop complaining?

I'll bite.

What are they complaining about?

Comment

Most members complain that certain things can't be done fast enough, or perhaps they need to view ads, or they have to pay for this, ect..

I tell them ussually if I'm fed up: "Run the community for one week, and make all of the changes you want, then answer the requests of others."

Comment

Oh I see.

I am really new to running a vB community. So I haven't had that experience yet. I have seen the whining complainers on other sites though. Usually, as with infants, it is just a immature attempt to get attention. You know, bad attention is better than no attention.

You might try dropping them a bone once in a while. Like suggesting that once a week, they PM you with a REALLY good idea. They will feel so special that you care, that they will probably stop bugging you. For a while at least. My guess is that these members simply crave your personalized attention.

Take it easy.
        MM

Comment

Originally posted by Andrew111888
          ...when certain members will simply not stop complaining?
          I give them the boot.

Comment

I give them a link to our forum rules, the link to the answer - and a request to actually read the text on those pages and stop whining about it or face their account being suspended. If they don't shape up, I let Jake boot them.

Comment

One member persisted in demanding things that shouldn't be demanded--admins do this, admins do that, demanding respect, demanding apologies, things like that.

He threatened to leave the site and take all high posters if we did not change a rule. We changed the rule and my co-administrator told the kid not to make a pansy threat such as that again.