Anyone ever set up phpChat?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Anyone ever set up phpChat?

I'm trying to setup phpChat, but I am clueless as to how IRC works. I understand all the docs that come with phpChat & phpIRC, but I am stumped on this one step in the installation:
    2. Install an IRC server in case you plan to run a local server and set it up
    And that's all it says... How do I go about setting up an IRC server? Or, is there any way to use phpChat without installing an IRC server? I'm a total newbie with this IRC stuff, but I learn quickly .

Any help would be very, very appreciated .

-jim

You need to install ircd as a process just like mysqld and httpd.

Comment

Where do I get ircd from?

-jim

Comment

You can download it from: ftp://ftp.irc.org/irc/server/

Comment

oooo!

*lights turning on*

Is that something that can be run on my webserver (hostpro.com) that a PHP script on my site can connect to?

Comment

It depends.... you would need at least Telnet/SSH access and the ability to compile and run programs..... but if you can do that, you should have no problem running a IRC deamon.

Comment

But if a virtual host you should check with them first - it might be against the rules.

Comment

Most virtual hosts (at least mine) would frown on using a PHP/MySQL based Chat. Thank goodness for my work ws

Thanks for the link Chris!

-jim

Comment

With PHPChat, you should be able to get away with using any IRC server. There are plenty of existing ones, just talk a stroll through the predefined list in MIRC.

If you're using HostPro, and are on their $90/month plan, then you can use their software to setup an IRC server locally, and use that address with PHPChat.

Comment

This thread got me to go ahead and set up an IRC chat server on my domain! I have irc.fast4gl.com working now.... I even set up a #vBulletin channel if anyone wants to stop on by sometime